Part Fourteen

“Ayesha, what kind of a child have we raised?” was my fathers question after watching the video.
“She’s your child, you tell me.”
I glared at her. “Oh nice. So when I do something good and you’re happy with me i’m YOUR child, but if I do something wrong and I embarrass you then i’m HIS child.”
“Of course. That’s how its always been. Oh yes, Zakariyya said I must give you a big hug and Suhail said he loves you.”
“So much love! What did they do? What am I not going to find when we get home?”
My mother started laughing. “They left your skateboard on the road and the garbage truck went over it.”
“Oh no man! Not the skateboard!!” I stared at her in dismay. “Well tell them they must get me a new one before I come home.”

We headed to our room to chill for a bit before supper. We spent the evening and the next day in the hotel, packing up and getting ready to leave.
On Monday morning my parents drove us to the airport. “Naeem had some work to do so he’s already there. Zahraa, please don’t give him grief and Atiyyah, make sure my daughter doesn’t do something to get herself locked up,” my father instructed.
“Good to know you have so little faith in me! And I don’t give him grief. Its not my fault he acts so faulty most of the time. He’s always so..aloof and serious.” Although I would have to admit, it just made him more alluring. When I had mentioned this to Atiyyah, she had snorted. “You have issues girly. Which normal person leaves the good guys and chases the bad guys?”
My mother spoke. “Everyone is different Zahraa. You just have to make peace with it and carry on.”
“I know, I know. Okay look, I’ll try and get along with him okay?”

We got to the airport and checked in after all the goodbyes. I sat down next to Naeem who was reading the newspaper. Taking a deep breath, I began. “Hey so errm.. I know we got off on the wrong foot and mind you, I still find your attitude disturbing and I know you don’t particularly like me for some reason unknown to me, but.. Could we please put our differences aside and at least try to get along?”
He put his paper down and looked at me. You know, if you were part of a Faction, it would be Candor.”
I stared at him, shocked at his reference to Divergent. “I’d take that as a yes?”
His mouth curled up in a half smile. “Yeah.”
“Okay cool.. Oh and just by the way.. Erudite and Dauntless too. So I guess that would make me Divergent.”
Now he was fully smiling. “Okay Miss Divergent let’s go before our plane leaves us.”
Atiyyah smirked at me as we headed towards the boarding gates. “Bet you R50 that at the end of this trip you’re gonna be head over heels for the accountant-slash-chauffeur-slash-bodyguard. Poor Azhar.”
“Oh shut it. It’s not happening. And besides, we’re not even gonna be together in Malaysia.”
“I’m guessing your father didn’t tell you that we’re booked into the same hotel?”
“What?! Oh hell.”
“It shouldn’t be a problem considering you just called a truce.”
“Yeah i guess.”

After taking off, I switched my phone on. The new wifi availability in aeroplanes was a dream come true. I spent the two hours on the flight catching up on everything I was missing out on in SA. Zaahid and Azhar had gone biking and Zaahid sprained his ankle badly. I messaged him:

Me: Hey there Cripple๐Ÿ˜Š
Zaahid: ๐Ÿ˜’ you think you’re so funny
Me: I KNOW i’m funny๐Ÿ˜
Zaahid: Meh. How’s the holiday so far?
Me: Amazing! But I wish you were here! Atiyyah and I are flying to Malaysia now
Zaahid: Alone??
Me: Not exactly. Daddys accountant is with
Zaahid: Huh?
Me: Long story short: he’s babysitting us whilst we’re flying
Zaahid: Haaaahahahahahahaha๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚
Me: It’s not funny๐Ÿ˜’
Zaahid: Oh but it is! Here you were thinking that you’re all grown up and can travel by yourself, yet you’re currently being babysat by your fathers accountant!๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚
Me: Oh please go jump in the lake
Zaahid: I would but.. Cripple. Remember?๐Ÿ˜”
Me: We’re getting ready to land, talk to you later. Get well soon!๐Ÿ˜˜
Zaahid: Tell your friend I said hi..oh and your babysitter too๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚
Me:๐Ÿ˜ก

We landed a few minutes later, and found Naeem waiting for us outside the aeroplane. “Welcome to Malaysia,” he said with a smile.

Leave a comment